naismith awards
naismith awards
naismith awards
naismith awards
naismith awards
naismit hawards

Atlanta Tipoff Club Honors 2010 Metro Atlanta Award Winners
List of Local Honorees Headlined by Khaalidah Miller and JerShon Cobb

ATLANTA (March 22, 2010) – Khaalidah Miller of Douglass High School and JerShon Cobb of Columbia High School headline Atlanta’s season-ending basketball awards, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced today. Miller, an ESPNU Top 100 player, was selected as the Metro Atlanta Girls’ Player of the Year and Cobb, a top recruit, was named Metro Atlanta Boys’ Player of the Year.

In addition, Kathy Richey-Walton, head coach of the Southwest DeKalb women’s basketball team, and Phil McCrary, head coach of the Columbia High School men’s basketball team, were named Metro Atlanta High School Coaches of the Year. The award is presented annually to the top men’s and women’s high school basketball coaches in metro Atlanta.

“Atlanta continues to produce some of the top basketball talent in the country, as evidenced by the accomplishments of our winners,” said Gary Stokan, Atlanta Tipoff Club.  “We salute them for tremendous seasons and feel a sense of pride to include them in elite Atlanta Tipoff Club history.”

All winners will be recognized at the Atlanta Tipoff Club Naismith Awards banquet presented by AT&T and SunTrust on March 23 at the Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre in Atlanta. Winners were chosen by the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s board of selectors and its voting academy, comprised of leading basketball coaches and administrators from around the region, who based their criteria on player performances throughout the season.


Metro Atlanta Girls Player of the Year: Khaalidah Miller, Douglass High School – The 5-9 senior led the Astros with an average of 27.2 points and 8.3 rebounds per game and posted 13 double-doubles during the 2009-2010 season. An extremely athletic player, she also averaged 3.3 steals and 2.5 blocks per game and posted more than 2,000 total career points. A member of the ESPNU Top 100, Miller has signed a letter of intent to play next season at the University of Georgia.

Metro Atlanta Boys Player of the Year: JerShon Cobb, Columbia High School – The 6-5 guard scored 20 points in the Class 3A state championship game to lead Columbia to the state title. The team captain finished his career with two state championships and an overall record of 127-14. A four-star recruit, Cobb will continue his basketball career next season at Northwestern University.

Other award winners include:


Jackie Bradford Girls’ All-Metro Team

Jackie Bradford Boys’ All-Metro Team

Alex Abraham, Paideia

Jordan Adams, Central Gwinnett

Alisha Andrews, Redan

Cory Blackwell, Peachtree Ridge

Brianna Banks, Northgate

Malcolm Brogdon, Greater Atlanta Christian

Sharnea Boykin, Westlake

Garrett Brown, Pope

Jasmine Camp, Chamblee

Trey Bussey, Lithia Springs

Jaymee Carnes, Gainesville

Alloys Cabell, Mays

Andraya Carter, Buford

Joe Chase, Green Forest

Lauren Coleman, Parkview

Tekele Cotton, Whitefield Academy

Moniqua Darby, McEachern

Terrance Glass, Meadowcreek

Diamond DeShields, Norcross

Trae Golden, McEachern

Chancie Dunn, Southwest DeKalb

Ryan Harrow, Walton

Nia Evans, Redan

Derrick Henry, Newton County

Erika Ford, Chattahoochee

Heath Houston, Hillgrove

Erin Hall, Wesleyan

Nickalus Jacobs, South Atlanta

Dearica Hamby, Marietta

Chad Johnson, Westlake

Mimi Hill, Winder Barrow

Jelan Kendrick, Wheeler

Brittany Hodges, Campbell

Jeremy Lamb, Norcross

Briana Jordan, Norcross

Kash Manzelli, Marist

Kris King, Milton

David Mason, Chamblee

Kendra Long, Mays

Javonte Maynor, South Gwinnett

Akila McDonald, Columbia

Javon McKay, Dunwoody

Chaney Means, Greater Atlanta Christian

Daijon Parker, Milton

Logan Morris, Wesleyan

Julian Royal, Milton

Anma Onyeuku, Fayette County

Adam Smith, Fayette County

Jarae Savage, North Cobb

Cameron Solomon, Lovejoy

Moneshia Simmons, Mill Creek

Phil Taylor, Wheeler

Sasha Sims, Fayette County

Kevin Ware, Rockdale

Danielle Spencer, Westlake

Devonta’ White, Centennial

Sydney Wallace, Northview

Trent Wiedeman, Greater Atlanta Christian

Briana Williams, Henry County

Donte Williams, Miller Grove

Charlie Bloodworth High School Official of the Year: Amy Todey – Todey, a member of the Peach State Basketball Officials Association, has been officiating basketball at the high school level since 2001 and has worked five Georgia High School State Championship games. Todey also officiates at the Division II and III collegiate level in the Peach Belt, SIAC, GSAC and SSAC. A graduate from the University of Georgia, she is currently pursuing a doctorate in counseling psychology.  

Bob Eskew Outstanding Sportsmanship Award: Chamblee Charter High School

The Atlanta Tipoff Club, an Atlanta Sports Council property, is committed to promoting the game of basketball and recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of those who make the game so exciting. The Atlanta Tipoff Club, founded during the 1956-57 season, has presented the Naismith Trophy every year since UCLA’s Lew Alcindor first won the award in 1969.  Old Dominion’s Anne Donovan won the inaugural Women’s Naismith Trophy in 1983.  The Naismith Award is the most prestigious award in all of college and high school basketball, recognizing the Men’s and Women’s College Basketball Player of the Year, Men’s and Women’s College Basketball Coach of the Year, as well as awards for outstanding achievement in high school basketball, officiating, and contribution to the game.  For more information visit  The Atlanta Sports Council was created in 1985 under the original name of Sports 2000, and is a division of the Metro Atlanta Chamber. For more information visit

Garland F. Pinholster Metro Atlanta Girls High School Coach of the Year: Kathy Richey-Walton, Southwest DeKalb High School – Richey-Walton led the Panthers to their third-straight Class 4A championship with a 65-45 win over Northwest Whitfield in the state title game. Prior to her arrival eight years ago, Southwest DeKalb had zero state titles to its name. She has taken the Panthers to five consecutive state playoff appearances and compiled a 183-53 record as head coach, which includes six seasons with 22 or more wins.

Garland F. Pinholster Metro Atlanta Boys High School Coach of the Year: Phil McCrary, Columbia High School – McCrary led the Eagles to their third Class 3A state championship and fifth state championship appearance in just six seasons with a 54-46 win over LaGrange. In 23 seasons at Columbia, McCrary has accumulated an overall record of 483-181.

Naismith Awards on Twitter Naismith Awards on Facebook
nasimith awards
naismit hawards
naismith awards