naismith awards
Naismith Awards on Twitter Naismith Awards on Facebook
naismith awards
naismith awards
naismith awards
naismith awards
naismit hawards

North Carolina, Tennessee and Stanford Lead the Naismith Preseason Watch List

ATLANTA (Nov. 2010) – The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, University of Tennessee and Stanford University each have three players represented on the 2010-11 Naismith preseason watch list, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced today. This year’s diverse list includes the top women’s college basketball players from 37 schools around the country.

The watch list was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s Board of Selectors, which based its criteria on player performances from the previous year and expectations for the 2010-11 college basketball season. The Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T* will be awarded on April 4, 2011 at the NCAA Women’s Final Four in Indianapolis.

“We have a dynamic group of players this year whom we expect to lead their teams to successful seasons, said Eric Oberman, Atlanta Tipoff Club executive director. “It will be another competitive race to see which candidate claims the most prestigious trophy in college basketball.” Since 2005, presenting sponsor AT&T has set the standard in allowing fans to participate in determining the trophy winner. Through the power and ease of text messaging** fan voting will account for 25 percent of all of the final results – more than any other national college basketball award.

”AT&T is proud to help recognize outstanding student-athletes as part of our relationship with the Naismith Women’s College Player of the Year program,” said Jason Simpson executive director, AT&T Corporate Sponsorships. “We look forward to watching an action-packed season and encourage fans to get in the game by voting for their favorite player.”

In late February, the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s Board of Selectors will compile a mid-season team of the top 30 players in the nation. Then in March, the Naismith Trophy voting academy will vote to narrow the list to the four finalists.

The Naismith Trophy is the most prestigious national award presented annually to college basketball’s player of the year. For more information, visit

2010-11 Naismith Trophy Preseason watch list:

Name School Position Class
Danielle Adams Texas A&M Forward/Center Senior
Kachine Alexander Iowa Guard Senior
LaSondra Barrett LSU Forward Junior
Angie Bjorklund Tennessee Guard/Forward Senior
Kelsey Bolte Iowa State Guard Senior
Jessica Breland North Carolina Forward Senior
Kelley Cain Tennessee Center Junior
Cetera DeGraffenreid North Carolina Guard Senior
Elena Delle Donne Delaware Forward/Guard Sophomore
Skylar Diggins Notre Dame Guard Sophomore
Jasmine Dixon UCLA Forward Junior
Victoria Dunlap Kentucky Forward Senior
Dawn Evans James Madison Guard Senior
Casey Garrison Missouri State Guard Junior
Brittney Griner Baylor Power Forward Sophomore
Keisha Hampton DePaul Forward Junior
Amber Harris Xavier Forward Senior
Tiffany Hayes Connecticut Guard Junior
Ify Ibekwe Arizona Forward Senior
Amy Jaeschke Northwestern Center Senior
Shenise Johnson Miami (Florida) Guard Junior
Melissa Jones Baylor Guard Senior
Jantel Lavender Ohio State Center Senior
Italee Lucas North Carolina Guard Senior
A’dia Mathies Kentucky Guard Sophomore
Sarah Miles West Virginia Guard Senior
Alex Montgomery Georgia Tech Guard/Forward Senior
Maya Moore Connecticut Forward Senior
Nnemkadi Ogwumike Stanford Forward Junior
Kayla Pedersen Stanford Forward Senior
Ta’Shia Phillips Xavier Center Senior
Jeanette Pohlen Stanford Guard Senior
Samantha Prahalis Ohio State Guard Junior
Lauren Prochaska Bowling Green Guard/Forward Senior
Chastity Reed Arkansas – Little Rock Forward Senior
Monique Reid Louisville Forward Junior
Jence Rhoads Vanderbilt Guard Senior
Danielle Robinson Oklahoma Guard Senior
Ta’Shauna Rodgers Georgetown Guard Sophomore
Shenneika Smith St. John’s Guard Sophomore
Brittany Spears Colorado Forward Senior
Da’Shena Stevens St. John’s Forward Junior
Shekinna Stricklen Tennessee Guard/Forward Junior
Helena Sverrisdottir TCU Guard/Forward Senior
Carolyn Swords Boston College Center Senior
Louella Tomlinson St. Mary’s Forward Senior
Jasmine Thomas Duke Guard Senior
Courtney Vandersloot Gonzaga Guard Senior
Courtney Ward Florida State Guard Senior
Riquna Williams Miami (Florida) Guard Junior

*AT&T products and services are provided or offered by subsidiaries and affiliates of AT&T Inc. under the AT&T brand and not by AT&T Inc.

** Standard messaging and data rates apply.

The Atlanta Tipoff Club, an Atlanta Sports Council property, is committed to promoting the game of basketball and recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of those who make the game so exciting. The Atlanta Tipoff Club, founded during the 1956-57 season, has presented the Naismith Trophy every year since UCLA’s Lew Alcindor first won the award in 1969. Old Dominion’s Anne Donovan won the inaugural Women’s Naismith Trophy in 1983. The Naismith Award has become the most prestigious award in all of college basketball, recognizing the Men’s and Women’s College Basketball Player of the Year, Men’s and Women’s College Basketball Coach of the Year, as well as awards for outstanding achievement in high school basketball, officiating, and contribution to the game.

About AT&T
AT&T Inc. (NYSE:T) is a premier communications holding company. Its subsidiaries and affiliates – AT&T operating companies – are the providers of AT&T services in the United States and around the world. With a powerful array of network resources that includes the nation’s fastest mobile broadband network, AT&T is a leading provider of wireless, Wi-Fi, high speed Internet and voice services. A leader in mobile broadband, AT&T also offers the best wireless coverage worldwide, offering the most wireless phones that work in the most countries. It also offers advanced TV services under the AT&T U-verse® and AT&T │DIRECTV brands. The company’s suite of IP-based business communications services is one of the most advanced in the world. In domestic markets, AT&T Advertising Solutions and AT&T Interactive are known for their leadership in local search and advertising. In 2010, AT&T again ranked among the 50 Most Admired Companies by FORTUNE® magazine.

Additional information about AT&T Inc. and the products and services provided by AT&T subsidiaries and affiliates is available at the AT&T Web Site. This AT&T news release and other announcements are available at AT&T Newsroom, and as part of an RSS feed at AT&T RSS Feed. Or follow our news on Twitter @ATT. Find us on Facebook at the AT&T Facebook to discover more about our consumer and wireless services or at AT&T Small Business Facebook to discover more about our small business services.

© 2010 AT&T Intellectual Property. All rights reserved. Mobile broadband not available in all areas. AT&T, the AT&T logo and all other marks contained herein are trademarks of AT&T Intellectual Property and/or AT&T affiliated companies. All other marks contained herein are the property of their respective owners.

nasimith awards
naismit hawards
naismith awards