naismith awards
naismith awards
naismith awards
naismith awards
naismith awards
naismit hawards

UCONN'S Maya Moore Named Naismith Trophy Winner
Huskies Star Joins Elite Company To Have Won The Award on Multiple Levels

ST. LOUIS, MO. (April 6, 2009)
- University of Connecticut sophomore Maya Moore was named winner of the 2009 Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T as the top women's college basketball player in the country, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced today.

Atlanta Tipoff Club Chairman Barry Goheen and AT&T Senior Vice President, Architecture and Planning Kris Rinne made the announcement at the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) awards luncheon earlier today.  

The two-time BIG EAST Player of the Year becomes just the sixth student-athlete to win a Naismith Trophy in both high school and college, joining the University of Connecticut's Diana Taurasi, the University of Tennessee's Tamika Catchings, Chamique Holdsclaw and Candace Parker, and the University of Southern California's Lisa Leslie.  A 6-4 sophomore from Collins Hill High School in Atlanta, Moore won the prep award in both 2006 and 2007.  

Moore edged out Angel McCoughtry (University of Louisville), fellow Huskies teammate Renee Montgomery, and Courtney Paris (University of Oklahoma), a 4-time Naismith finalist and the 2005 Naismith National High School Girl's Player of the Year award winner.

Moore was chosen by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors, comprised of leading basketball journalists, coaches and administrators from around the country, in addition to fan voting via text message, which accounted for 25 percent of the final results - more than any other national college basketball award. The board based its criteria on player performances throughout the season. The vote was tabulated and certified by the accounting firm of Habif, Arogeti & Wynne, LLP.  The Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T is regarded as the most prestigious national basketball award and is given annually to the women's college basketball player of the year.

"We're honored to recognize Maya for what she has achieved both individually and with her team," said Gary Stokan, Atlanta Tipoff Club president.  "Having watched her win a Naismith Trophy in high school it was no surprise that she would eventually claim one at the collegiate level."

"At AT&T we're glad to see so many fans engaged with text voting to support the Naismith award finalists," said Rinne. "We know that connecting sports fans with convenient ways to support the teams and players they cheer for, week after week, drives value for everyone involved.  It's great to be part of such a celebrated award - and to give fans and finalists more ways to win."

Moore averaged 19.1 points and 9.1 rebounds per game while shooting 53 percent from the field and set the Connecticut single-season scoring mark.

Other notable Naismith Trophy past winners include Cheryl Miller (USC), Dawn Staley (University of Virginia), Lindsey Harding (Duke University) and last year's winner, Parker.

For more information, visit <> .


The Atlanta Tipoff Club, an Atlanta Sports Council property, is committed to promoting the game of basketball and recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of those who make the game so exciting. The Atlanta Tipoff Club, founded in 1956, has presented the Naismith Trophy since UCLA's Lew Alcindor first won the award in 1969.   Old Dominion's Anne Donovan won the inaugural Women's Naismith Trophy in 1983.
The Naismith Award has become an emblem of excellence for the game, recognizing the Men's and Women's College Basketball Player of the Year, Men's and Women's College Basketball Coach of the Year, as well as awards for outstanding achievement in high school basketball, officiating, and overall contribution to the game.


AT&T Inc. (NYSE:T) is a premier communications holding company. Its subsidiaries and affiliates, AT&T operating companies, are the providers of AT&T services in the United States and around the world. Among their offerings are the world's most advanced IP-based business communications services and the nation's leading wireless, high speed Internet access and voice services. In domestic markets, AT&T is known for the directory publishing and advertising sales leadership of its Yellow Pages and YELLOWPAGES.COM organizations, and the AT&T brand is licensed to innovators in such fields as communications equipment. As part of its three-screen integration strategy, AT&T is expanding its TV entertainment offerings. Additional information about AT&T Inc. and the products and services provided by AT&T subsidiaries and affiliates is available at <> .

© 2008 Intellectual Property. All rights reserved. AT&T, the AT&T logo and all other marks contained herein are trademarks of AT&T Intellectual Property and/or AT&T affiliated companies.

Naismith Awards on Twitter Naismith Awards on Facebook
nasimith awards
naismit hawards

Eric Oberman

Atlanta Tipoff Club
(404) 586-8506

naismith awards