naismith awards
naismith awards
naismith awards
naismith awards
naismith awards
naismit hawards

Jim Boeheim Named 2010 Naismith Men's Coach of the Year
Second Consecutive Big East Coach to Claim Prestigious Honor

ATLANTA (April 6, 2010) – Syracuse University’s Jim Boeheim has been named the 2010 Naismith Men’s College Coach of the Year, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced today. 

He won out over finalists Steve Alford (University of New Mexico), John Calipari (University of Kentucky) and Frank Martin (Kansas State University), and becomes the fourth Big East conference coach to win the award, following Ben Howland (University of Pittsburgh, 2002), Jay Wright (Villanova University, 2006) and last year’s winner, Jamie Dixon (University of Pittsburgh). 

Boeheim was selected by the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s National Voting Academy, a collection of leading basketball journalists, coaches and administrators from around the country, which based their criteria on coaching performances throughout the season. The vote was tabulated and certified by the accounting firm of Habif, Arogeti & Wynne, LLP.  HA&W is the largest independent accounting firm in Georgia and one of the top 50 firms in the United States.

“This season clearly illustrated why Jim is one of the top coaches in his profession,” said Gary Stokan, Atlanta Tipoff Club president.  “His ability to take good teams and make them great is what he does best, and we congratulate him for winning this prestigious award.”

“This is really a tremendous honor,” said Boeheim.  “It is a reflection of the great team I was privileged to coach this year.”

Syracuse went 30-5 overall and won the BIG EAST Conference regular-season championship with a 15-3 record. The Orange was ranked No. 1 during the season for the first time since 1989-90.  Boeheim recorded his 800th career win at the beginning of the season, and guided Syracuse into the NCAA Tournament for the 27th time.  Boeheim ranks sixth all-time and second among active coaches in Division I victories with 829. He is tied for seventh in Division I NCAA Tournament wins with 44. Boeheim has posted an NCAA Division I record 32 20-win seasons, two better than second-place holder Dean Smith.

The Naismith Award, presented annually to the top men’s college coach, is the most prestigious national coaching award in college basketball.  Indiana’s Bob Knight won the inaugural Naismith Men’s College Coach of the Year award in 1987. For more information, visit

Past Naismith Men’s College Coach of the Year winners include:

2009 • Jamie Dixon • Pittsburgh
2008 • John Calipari • Memphis
2007 • Tony Bennett • Washington State
2006 • Jay Wright • Villanova
2005 • Bruce Weber • Illinois
2004 • Phil Martelli • Saint Joseph’s
2003 • Tubby Smith • Kentucky
2002 • Ben Howland • Pittsburgh
2001 • Rod Barnes • Ole Miss
2000 • Mike Montgomery • Stanford
1999 • Mike Krzyzewski • Duke
1998 • Bill Guthridge • North Carolina
1997 • Roy Williams • Kansas
1996 • John Calipari • UMass
1995 • Jim Harrick • UCLA
1994 • Nolan Richardson • Arkansas
1993 • Dean Smith • North Carolina
1992 • Mike Krzyzewski • Duke
1991 • Randy Ayers • Ohio State
1990 • Bobby Cremins • Georgia Tech
1989 • Mike Krzyzewski • Duke
1988 • Larry Brown • Kansas
1987 • Bob Knight • Indiana

The Atlanta Tipoff Club, an Atlanta Sports Council property, is committed to promoting the game of basketball and recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of those who make the game so exciting. The Atlanta Tipoff Club, founded during the 1956-57 season, has presented the Naismith Trophy every year since UCLA’s Lew Alcindor first won the award in 1969.  Old Dominion’s Anne Donovan won the inaugural Women’s Naismith Trophy in 1983.  The Naismith Award has become an emblem of excellence for the game, recognizing the Men’s and Women’s College Basketball Player of the Year, Men’s and Women’s College Basketball Coach of the Year, as well as awards for outstanding achievement in high school basketball, officiating, and contribution to the game.

Naismith Awards on Twitter Naismith Awards on Facebook
nasimith awards
naismit hawards
naismith awards