Men's College Coach of the Year

The Naismith College Coach of the Year Award was established in 1987. For the first two years of existence the award went to the winning coaches of the men's and women's champions of the NCAA Division I Tournament. It was in 1989 that our governing board changed the selection criteria to a voting process.


2007 Men's College Coach of the Year
Tony Bennett
Washington State

Bennett has led the Cougars to 25 regular-season wins, tied for second most in school history and one shy of the WSU record set in 1940-41, in his first season as head coach.  He became just the third man in Washington State history to be named Pacific-10 Conference Coach of the Year.  The Green Bay, Wis., native is in his fourth season with the Cougars having come to the Palouse as an assistant coach for his father Dick prior to the 2003-04 season.  In his first year as head coach, he is leading the Cougars to their first NCAA Tournament in 13 years.  Bennett looks to become only the third coach from a Pac-10 school to claim the Naismith award (Jim Harrick, UCLA, 1995; Mike Montgomery, Stanford, 2000).

Other 2007 Men's College Coach of the Year Finalists
Billy Gillispie
Texas A&M

Gillispie was named 2007 Big 12 Coach of the Year (Big 12 coaches’ poll) in leading the Aggies to 25 wins – the most regular-season victories in school history.  Under Gillispie, Texas A&M has been ranked in the top 13 all season and in the top 10 most of the season, climbing as high as No. 6 (four times), the highest ranking in school history.   The Aggies are making NCAA appearances for the first time in school history and have had three straight 20-win seasons for the first time in history after going 7-21(0-16 in Big 12), the year before Gillispie arrived.

Bo Ryan

Ryan l ed the Badgers to 29 overall and 13 conference wins this season, both school records. The Badgers earned the first No. 1 ranking in school history and their No. 2 seed in NCAA tournament is highest in school history. In six seasons Ryan has amassed a 68-28 (.708) record in Big Ten games, the best winning percentage of any coach in league history with at least five years experience.  He has the second-highest career winning percentage of any active Division I coach with at least 500 career wins (524-157, .769), winning his 500th career game vs. Auburn on Nov. 25.

John Thompson III

In just three seasons at the helm, Thompson has taken the Hoyas from a sub .500 record (13-15 in 2004-05) to the quarterfinals of the NIT (19-13 in 2005-06) to a number-two seed in the 2007 NCAA Tournament.   In going 26-6 (13-3 Big East), the Hoyas claimed their seventh conference championship – first since 1989 – and went 6-2 against teams ranked in the top 25 in the latest AP poll. Prior to coaching at Georgetown, Thompson guided Princeton to three Ivy League Championships, two NCAA tournaments and an NIT appearance while going 68-42 over his four years as head coach



2007 Tony Bennett (Washington State)
2006 Jay Wright (Villanova)
2005 Bruce Weber (Illinois)
2004 Phil Martelli (Saint Joseph’s)
2003 Orlando "Tubby" Smith (Kentucky)
2002 Ben Howland (Pittsburgh)
2001 Rod Barnes (Ole Miss)
2000 Mike Montgomery (Stanford)
1999 Mike Krzyzewski (Duke)
1998 Bill Guthridge (North Carolina)
1997 Roy Williams (Kansas)
1996 John Calipari (UMass)
1995 Jim Harrick (UCLA)
1994 Nolan Richardson (Arkansas)
1993 Dean Smith (North Carolina)
1992 Mike Krzyzewski (Duke)
1991 Randy Ayers (Ohio State)
1990 Bobby Cremins (Georgia Tech)
1989 Mike Krzyzewski (Duke)
1988 Larry Brown (Kansas)
1987 Bob Knight (Indiana)






ebinternet - an ebroadcasters media division