Men's College Player of the Year

The Naismith Awards, recognized as the most prestigious award in basketball in the nation, annually recognizes the top male and female college players.

Since 1969, when UCLA’s Lew Alcindor received the inaugural Male College Player of the Year Award, the Naismith Awards have honored the top men’s college basketball players in the nation.



2007 Men's College Player of the Year Finalists

1st Freshman Winner in the history of the Naismith Awards

Kevin Durant

Read On

Kevin Durant: In his rookie season, the 6-9 forward became the first freshman to earn the league's Player of the Year honor, while also garnering Big 12 Freshman of the Year award. He led the Longhorns in scoring (25.1 ppg), rebounding (11.4 rpg), blocked shots (55), steals (54) and double-doubles (18) while directing Texas to a 22-8 mark in the regular season and a Top 15 national ranking. Durant posted at least 20 points and 10 rebounds in 17 of the first 30 games and reached the 30-point mark nine times. He set Big 12 season records for scoring (462) and rebounds (200), and is on pace for breaking the school single-season scoring mark of 772. He also was named NABC First-Team All-American.

Tyler Hansbrough
North Carolina

Tyler Hansbrough: A consensus 1st Team All-America by the USBWA and NABC, and unanimous 1st-Team All-ACC Selection, the 6-9 sophomore forward led the team and was fourth in the ACC in scoring at 18.1 points per game. He is the first Tar Heel to repeat first-team All-America honors since Antawn Jamison in 1997 and 1998. He has 1,201 career points, becoming the 59th Tar Heel to score 1,000 (an NCAA record). Hansbrough reached the 1,000 plateau in just his 54th game, the sixth-fastest of any Tar Heel and the fastest among those who played as a true freshman.

Acie Law IV
Tex A&M

Acie Law IV: The 6-3 senior guard from Dallas was named the Big 12 Player of the Year by the Dallas Morning News and Big 12 Most Valuable Player by the Fort Worth Star-Telegram. A consensus First-Team All-Big 12 and second-Team Academic All-Big 12, he averaged 17.9 points, 3.2 rebounds and 5.3 assists per game while making 51.3 percent from the field, 44.9 percent from three-point range and 76.5 percent from the free throw line. In addition, Law was the only player in the nation averaging at least 17.0 points and 5.0 assists per game while making 50 percent or better from the field.

Alando Tucker

Alando Tucker: Was named Big Ten Player of the Year by both the coaches and media and was the only unanimous first-team All-Big Ten selection by both groups. He also was named first-team All-American by the USBWA, Wisconsin's first first-team All-American since 1950. In a season in which the Badgers set a school record for most overall wins (29) and conference victories (13), the 6-6 forward eclipsed Michael Finley to become Wisconsin's all-time leading scorer (2,177). He averaged 19.9 points per game, second in the Big Ten, this year in leading Wisconsin to the school's first-ever No. 1 ranking. Dating back to last season he has scored in double figures in 41 consecutive games, the 10th-best active streak in the country.

Four of the nation’s top men's college basketball players have been named as finalists for...
Read On


2007 Kevin Durant (Texas)
2006 J.J. Redick (Duke)
2005 Andrew Bogut (Utah)
2004 Jameer Nelson (Saint Joseph’s)
2003 T.J. Ford (Texas)
2002 Jason Williams (Duke)  
2001 Shane Battier (Duke)
2000 Kenyon Martin (Cincinnati)
1999 Elton Brand (Duke)
1998 Antawn Jamison (UNC)  
1997 Tim Duncan (Wake Forest)    
1996 Marcus Camby (UMass)
1995 Joe Smith (Maryland)
1994 Glenn Robinson (Purdue)
1993 Calbert Cheaney (Indiana)     
1992 Christian Laettner (Duke)       
1991 Larry Johnson (UNLV)    
1990 Lionel Simmons (LaSalle)
1989 Danny Ferry (Duke)
1988 Danny Manning (Kansas)  
1987 David Robinson (Navy)    
1986 Johnny Dawkins (Duke)
1985 Patrick Ewing (Georgetown)
1984 Michael Jordan (UNC)
1983 Ralph Sampson (Virginia)      
1982 Ralph Sampson (Virginia)   
1981 Ralph Sampson (Virginia)    
1980 Mark Aguirre (DePaul)
1979 Larry Bird (Indiana State)    
1978 Butch Lee (Marquette)  
1977 Marques Johnson (UCLA)   
1976 Scott May (Indiana)
1975 David Thompson (NC State)  
1974 Bill Walton (UCLA)
1973 Bill Walton (UCLA)
1972 Bill Walton (UCLA)
1971 Austin Carr (Notre Dame)
1970 Pete Maravich (LSU)
1969 Lew Alcindor (UCLA)






ebinternet - an ebroadcasters media division